A Brief Look at Seven of My Favourite Films

Recently (as in about two days ago), a hashtag trended for “your seven favourite films.”  And I took the bait.

One of the best things about seeing people do this is the interesting insight it gives you into people you may admire professionally, and your personal friends & acquaintances.  I love it when I see people put out their love for Joe vs. The Volcano on display (I’m looking at you Josh Raby!).  I like it when I see people that I admire professionally (filmmakers, critics) have even just two or three films overlap with me.

So here are my seven favourite.  They’re not necessarily the best films ever made technically (because really, then Citizen Kane would be on every list because damn that film is technically brilliant), but they are my go-to films when I’m feeling in need of comfort of some type.

Because I could only put one film in any kind of numerical order, I’ve decided to talk about them alphabetically.  Overall they’ll be brief (just like in the title header!!) because at some point in the near future I’ll talk about them at more length.

Here they are.

The Abyss (1989)
Alien (1979)
The American President (1995)
The Boy Who Could Fly (1986)
Joe vs. The Volcano (1990)
Lawrence of Arabia (1962)
Stardust (2007)

How’s that for brief?

I’ll let you discuss what you might think these films mean to me, and how they might relate to each other.  Until I review them in more depth (especially given how deep The Abyss is), have a great time thinking of them!

About Brandon Williford

Dad. Writer. Creator of things. I sound like I should be fun.

Posted on August 17, 2016, in Commentaries, Film Commentaries. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

