JANUARY 2, 2016

(Yes.  It’s a mighty title.)

So for this year, I’ve decided that I would do something different.  Something bold.  Something so bold that I’d never thought of doing it before.

I’m going to try my utmost very uberantly* best to watch something new each day of the week, or to at least only watch something that I’ve seen before just once during the year.  Film or TV.  I’m actually going to attempt to watch a different film seven times a week – ideally once a day, but come on … one has to be realistic about how week nights go.

I have two kids, so this will be a little more difficult to do on the weekends that they’re with me.  Because kids like to re-watch things they like.  Kind of like grown-ups.  Weird that.

It started yesterday with SCHOOL OF ROCK.  A classic with Jack Black and a wonderful cast of kids.  My son’s seen it before, but my daughter hadn’t.  She’s eight, and I thought there were elements of it that she would connect with.  Although it didn’t land on her list of “things I can watch over and over and over and over like anything about MONSTER HIGH,” it did land on her “I enjoyed it.  It was funny” list.  She especially liked the parts where Jack Black was all dance-y while playing the guitar.  And when he made the funny guitar sounds.  In hindsight, I should’ve figured she’d identify with Jack Black a little too well.

Today, it was several (okay, eleven) episodes from season 3 of THE BIG BANG THEORY.  I usually don’t mind binging through episodes of a show.  What surprised me was that it was my daughter who spurred that on, while she was playing “action time” with the Disney Infinity figure.  I had even turned off the disc at one point because the son was going to use the Wii U, and boy howdy did she ever get miffed about that.  You’d think that I had been kicking around her dolls, ripping them apart, then naming them all “Ted” and “Leroy” and “Bernard.”

I had also decided last night (as I was thinking up the watching a movie a day thing) that I would also do my best to get back into writing.  It’s been a long time since I’ve done any writing, really.  You can tell from the number of blog entries prior to this one.  It’s been an even longer time since I’ve written anything more substantial – whether it be poetry, lyrics, script, prose.  It’s been nearly a year since I last worked on my time line for my show SHANNAGH.  I have had film and story ideas just on the edge of my brain, but I haven’t been able to get them out.  Hence the active decision to do something different.

I’m going to write something every day.  Most likely right here, posting away.  Whether it’s daily/hourly musings or for the heck of it reviews of films/TV I watch or just something.  I’m going to take a page from what most writers say to do, but specifically inspired by the writer Jane Espenson (whose credits include BUFFY, THE VAMPIRE SLAYER, ANGEL, GILMORE GIRLS, BATTLESTAR GALACTICA, CAPRICA, ONCE UPON A TIME, and TORCHWOOD: MIRACLE DAY).  She calls them writing sprints.  I’ll call clearing out my head in a somewhat orderly fashion.

So this is the first of them.  Here’s to that.  /cheers

*New word.  I think.  I’m not bothering to Google it.
About Brandon Williford

Dad. Writer. Creator of things. I sound like I should be fun.

Posted on January 2, 2016, in Just Plain 'Ol Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

