COMING SOON!! (updated the next morning)

Yeup. That’s right. Coming soon.

What’s that you say? What’s coming soon?

Reviews.

I’m taking some time to watch a bunch of films that I either haven’t ever seen before or haven’t seen in *years*.  And by years I mean decades.  Far enough ago that I only remember iconic bits, which really doesn’t help put the context in whole.

So what’s coming up for reviews?  Well, glad I asked!!

(None of the following are in any particular order.)

House of the Dead (Uwe Boll, director) [2004]
   The Answer Man (John Hindman, director) [2009]
Mad Max (George Miller, director) [1979]
   The Sorceror’s Apprentice (John Turtletaub, director) [2010]
(500) Days of Summer (Marc Webb, director) [2009]
   Clerks 2 (Kevin Smith, director) [2006]
Paint Your Wagon (Joshua Logan, director) [1969]
   The Last Detail (Hal Ashby, director) [1973]
Tootsie (Sydney Pollack, director) [1982]
   This Film is Not Yet Rated (Kirby Dick, director) [2009]
Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid (Carl Reiner, director) [1982]
   Raising Arizona (Joel Cohen, director) [1987]
Bottle Rocket (Wes Anderson, director) [1996]
   Breakfast on Pluto (Neil Jordan, director) [2005]
Hollywoodland (Allen Coulter, director) [2006]
   In the Name of the King (Uwe Boll, director) [2007]
Doghouse (Jake West, director) [2009]
The Midnight Meat Train (Ryuhei Kitamura, director [2008]
Superbad (Greg Motolla, director) [2007]
My Name is Bruce (Bruce Campbell, director) [2006]

Just keep in mind that my reviews are going to be really, really boring aren’t going to be just straight-up reviews.  They’re going to be, well, me.  Me reviewing.  And critiquing.  And some of them are going to involve bantering with a writer friend of mine, Ashley, who’s going to be bringing along her own commentaries.  Heck, feel free to banter yourself in the comments on any review post I put up!

And to those people who don’t think film/movies (and yes, I will pontificate on the subjective difference between the two) are about society?  Bite me.

– Brandon

About Brandon Williford

Dad. Writer. Creator of things. I sound like I should be fun.

Posted on February 21, 2010, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You selected two Uwe Boll films … and I see why this never happened.

    • Dude. I did watch “House of the Dead,” and saw about half of “In the Name of the King.” When I went back to finish watching “In the Name of the King” they had taken it off of Netflix Canada. I can’t tell you how heartbroken I was by that.

      I did start to write my review of “House of the Dead,” but then I lost focus. I had spent all my mental mojo quipping at it when I first watched it. /sigh

      But otherwise I have seen 11 of the films I put on that list. Just never got around to doing an actual review. /doublesigh

Leave a Reply

