LOL cats … and beyond!!

Yes.  Sometimes a person just cannot resist … the LOL cat.

I Can Haz Cheezeburger has been doing the cute animals thing for a while now.  And on occasion, someone words a picture in a great way.

This one’s not great, but it certainly made me laugh, especially considering I was a kid during the 70’s … watching Toho Productions films (Godzilla and all it’s sequels, Rodan, Mothra, etc.), t.v. shows like Space:1999 and UFO. Ah, those were the days …

funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

One of the things I find best about being a parent is getting to help define what my kids may or may not be interested in by introducing them to things via dvd, or sometimes thanks to YouTube. I’m not a fan of either film or music piracy, but finding snippets to whet the appetite of imagination is fine in my book. After all, it’s no more than a teaser or trailer in the end.

From the time my son was about two and a half, he’s been watching things that came out when I was a kid, some of which is still relevant today. Star Wars being a prime example. Now there’s been a lot of movies since Star Wars came out, and a great many t.v. shows. He’s seen modern films with remarkable special effects (the STAR WARS prequels, SPEED RACER, TRANSFORMERS, IRON MAN). But a show that he totally likes to watch? The 1970’s LAND OF THE LOST. And that makes me proud. Another show he likes to watch episodes of? The original SPEED RACER cartoon, in all it’s English dubbed glory and 60’s animation. And this from a kid who’s watched just about every PIXAR film made, tons of DISNEY animated and shows like THE BACKYARDIGANS. And it helped cement something that’s been in my head for a long time as a story writer: it’s not how much money you pump into something, it’s about what’s interesting. It’s about excitement and seeing something you haven’t seen before. Not something that hasn’t been done before, but something that you haven’t seen. I didn’t watch APOCALYPSE NOW until last year. Watched both the original version and the Director’s cut. I didn’t see CHINATOWN until two years ago. Was I familiar with how the films went? Pretty much. Can’t not hear about some films because of their classic status, especially if you’re into films/television. But it certainly didn’t prevent my wonder at the craftsmanship that caused these films to be deemed classics, my excitement at watching them for the first time.

So him watching something like the 70’s LAND OF THE LOST, with its extremely small budget and, by today’s standards, cheap effects, but bucketloads of imagination and ideas, I feel happy knowing that he seems to be attracted to the right things about watching stuff. I haven’t heard one comment about “Well it’s crap.” Or the nearly 6 year-old-boy equivalent.

I guess it kind of ties into my previous journal about simply being entertained by something. Now I can be very, very cynical. I can have a very dark sense of humour, sometimes morbid. But I balance that out with a silly side as well. I’m jaded in some ways with life and humanity, and in the rest I’m hopeful. Watching my son (and my daughter as she grows into her own person), it helps remind me that doing something where the wires show isn’t a bad thing. Hell, I’d love to do a film of some type that’s CGI heavy and as a joke there’s a hint of wires holding up the spaceship … and then I’d love to hear people bashing about it in some way, having not gotten the joke. As I recently found myself saying in a different forum: it’s extremely easy to be snide and derisive of things. It’s easy to tear down something someone’s made, than to let yourself just simply appreciate what someone else has done or is attempting to do.

I want my kids to experience the wonder without the cynicsm. I want other people’s kids to experience that as well. Is cynicism good? Yes, in moderation; in fact, it can be healthy in debates, specifically when it comes to government (and this could be a whole other blog in itself). I can think something is a bad idea with or without all the facts available. Anyone is free to do that. But I think that having facts in hand, or at least readily available, is a whole lot better than without. Experiencing wonder … you really need to have an open mind for that. Or at the very least a portion of an open mind for it. Lose the bitterness of somehow feeling betrayed that someone didn’t do what you wanted them to do. In fact, learn to lose the feeling of being betrayed because someone didn’t do what you wanted them to do. Accept it for what it is.

To me, this is good advice across several different fields, not just film/entertainment. Being entertained is of course subjective to begin with, but just because you didn’t care for it doesn’t mean it’s wrong or stupid anymore than the people who did like it are.

– Brandon

About Brandon Williford

Dad. Writer. Creator of things. I sound like I should be fun.

Posted on February 15, 2010, in Commentaries, Film Commentaries, Humour, Life & a World With Kids, T.V. Commentaries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Dearest Brandon, I just added a link section to my blog and added yours.. just to let you know!

    I’m sending you… em… snow? I have loads so yea, snow.

  2. Ah bugger I thought I could get rid of some… ah well.

  3. Since you are familiar with the 70’s, do you recall a product called, “Shake-a-pudding”? It was popular for all of about 2 years, I think. Jello provided the pudding mix and the plastic container. You provided the milk and then you would shake like mad. Fun times.

    Patricia

Leave a Reply

